Me in the future

Hola mucho gusto. My name is Cristal Ruiz and this is my fourth year at CSUF. I have 2 of everything: dos parents, dos brothers and dos sisters. I am the hija to two Mexicanos. My papa is from Huehuetlan, Puebla and my mama is from Botija, Guanajuato. Espanol was my first lengua but now my American accent has taken over so I’m un poco rusty on my native tongue.

In my sangre you can find the latin flavor of the diverse music and dance that Hispanics have passed on and created. Since I came out of the womb of my mama, I have loved to dance even if it was just spinning around in circles at the age of 3. Even today, I love to dance to the ritmos de Bachata to el Zapateado pero I’m no professional. That is why I’m going through out La Naranja to find the professionals. Not only am I going to find them to teach me a thing or two about el baile, but to document their careers and find the story that brought them to el baile and La Naranja.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

