Hello my name is Miguel Briseño and it’s my last year at Cal State Fullerton. I grew up and still live in the city of Santa Ana, California. One of my favorite hobbies has been playing baseball. It must have been in 1992 or 1993 when I was 4 or 5 years old, I would go to the park with my dad and watch him play baseball every Sunday. He was the manager for a

Managers pick up official Sunday league game balls at Jerome Park in Stanta Ana.

Sunday league baseball team in Santa Ana. I remember sitting in the dugout watching my dad and his team play ball; I would even wear a matching uniform in my size. That was the last team my dad managed. Ten years later I joined my friend’s family team, which his dad managed. His dad happened to know my dad (it’s a small world). Because it was my first team outside of little league or high school my dad joined the team for support. While we were in this team we faced my dad’s family team de el rancho (which would be my dad’s last official game). To show up his family, he stole 5 bases! That’s damn good for a viejo nearing the 50 mark.

There were many teams throughout Orange County while my dad managed his team. Although it was many years ago, the league has grown and other leagues have been developed. My focus on my barrio happens to be the on the leagues and teams that many Latinos play within Orange County. This topic interests me because of how I grew up

Teams can order custom-made jerseys from people who manufacture them in their own homes.

around baseball. The way I intend to proceed with my research will be through interviews, pictures, videos, and documents if available. Some of the interviews may be with managers, coaches, players, people who run the leagues, and people who make uniforms for teams. I will search for old and new pictures of teams as well as some videos. I am eager to start documenting on the barrios that are formed on the baseball fields of parks and high schools. Through this, I hope to uncover the hidden talent of Latinos on the baseball fields of Orange County.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

