Hello, my name is Luis Castro, and I’m a Junior at C.S.U.F. majoring in Political Science and Chicano Studies. Today I come to y’all bloggers with a sole purpose: to project the voices of people living in the shadows of Costa Mesa and Laguna Beach. To be specific, THE JORNALEROS, also known as Daily Laborers.

Being the first born son of a Ranchero who used to stand at the corner of the Costa Mesa 7 ELEVEN , waiting for a job to feed his family, got me thinking. This all started about two years ago, when the City of Costa Mesa decided to stop funding their job center and close down the premise for good. I never really understood the motive. All I saw were just common men, like my father,  waiting for a day of work to put food on the table. I guess for the city of Costa Mesa, working hard to pay bills was a pointless action.

Also, at that current time, as I worked with my father in his gardening route, I witnessed other Jornaleros in Laguna Beach. To me this was a surprise! I never would’ve expected seeing day laborers at that site. At times when I passed they would wave at my father for Chamba, other times, there were

rallies against their presence.

As a result, these individuals striving for a better life, and the ignorance and blatant racism of others, inspired me to research and project a story. Most of the time when Jornaleros are exposed through the mainstream media, they tend to be always from Santa Ana, or the LA area. Not this time! During this semester I will document personal histories and present them through this blog. It’s not about me, it’s about sharing personal anecdotes, and letting the voices of those be heard. For now, that’s all, I hope y’all enjoy this blog and learn with me.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

3 responses »

  1. Victoria says:

    I enjoy reading that the light goes on beeing a Chicana growing up in Orange County sense 1070’s I have seen ALOT of things. It’s sad to know that people are the same as when I was a kid.

  2. Diego C. says:

    que bueno que hayas querido hablar sobre un grupo de gente que no tienen visibilidad y tampoco voz, creo que tu conexión emocional a este ayudara en crear un trabajo muy profundo y notable. Buen trabajo muchacho

  3. Damian says:

    Luis Castro!
    Everytime i go to my Nina’s on PCH through the Canyon i pass the Laguneros. What you are reporting on is a good thing to bring awareness to our gente!!!!!!!!

Deje a Reply

