Off of Broadway and Borchard in Santa Ana

 Hola amigos! Everytime I interview a Paletero, I will also be trying a different paleta flavor.  Today’s flavor was strawberry (fresa) and it was delicioso.  Below you will find a few questions I asked Mr. Palacios and his responses.  I hope you find my post interesting!!!!!!!!!
Where were you born?
I was born in Puebla, Mexico and have been living in the United States for a little over 10 years.
How long have you been working as a Paletero?
I’ve been working as a Paletero for 7 years now.  I work for a company called Tropical Ice Cream located off of 5th Street and Bristol in Santa Ana.
Is there other companies that are competitors with the company you work for?
Yes, there are 2 other companies in Santa Ana that I know of. The first one is called La Michoacana located off of Main Street in Santa Ana, and the second one is called La Melody which is located off of 1st and Fairview Street in Santa Ana
What has been your worst experience as a Paletero?
Once I got assaulted with a gun by an African-American guy who was accompanied with a hispanic guy.  He pointed a gun and stole a rack of potato chips.  Another bad experience for me is dealing with the young teenage boys who throw things at me and call me bad names but I’ve learned to just ignore them
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As you can see by Mr. Palacios experience, he’s had it a little tuff and I hope as a society, we appreciate the advantages of having a Paletero in our Barrios seeing that not many are allowed in certain cities such as Irvine, Tustin, and Costa Mesa just to name a few.
About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

2 responses »

  1. Damian says:

    we need to re-educate our youth to respect workers. great piece!!

  2. memo says:

    Mmmm, yo quiero una de MELON, if you know what I mean…

Deje a Reply

