Greetings! My name is John Watson. Currently I am finishing my last semester at Cal State Fullerton as an American Studies major. I must confess that I am not a native of Orange County, to many people’s despair I’m from Riverside…Now that you’ve all rolled your eyes you will be glad to know that I will not be using this blog to highlight anything about your neighbors to the east. During my time in Orange County I have learned a lot about the unique history of what many around the world know as the home of the Angeles and Disneyland. Before I moved here I never knew about the thriving barrios of Orange County and the people who live and work in their surrounding areas. This will be the focus of this blog, specifically those who grew up and lived in El Modena which in now in the city of Orange, CA.

Back tracking just a little in order to fund my education I have had to work. I was hired as a teller at a bank in Orange about 4 years ago. During that I have learned so much about this small community and specifically about those who live and work in this surrounding area. Many of many coworkers and their families have deep root in Orange and even in El Modena, one of Orange’s oldest barrios created for citrus pickers at the turn of the 20th century.

 

This blog will be a focus on this community’s past and present. This blog will be about those who live and work in Orange and the struggles and victories that they deal with everyday. This blog is dedicated to the everyday heroes of Orange County and their contributions that make their home like no other in America.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

