As I roamed the streets of Costa Mesa these past days, I wondered what would it be like to be a Jornalero?Many thoughts came to mind, but an impulse surprised and invigorated me. As I stood drinking my coffee outside the 7eleven, Lino passed. He came, and politely asked how was my project coming out, and I responded that things were good. He looked at me with distrust and said that he didn’t believe me. I scratched my head, took a sip of coffee and spaced out. My earlier thought came into mind, and then quickly, I informed Lino that I was not satisfied. Adamantly, I expressed to him that I wanted to be in his shoes, that I wanted to feel and understand what a Jornalero goes through. He said he liked the idea and that it was a humble thing to do, but, “Why would you, an educated person do this,” he asked. I didn’t have an answer, but I explained to him that a story could be told better if one could actually experience the events. He nodded, and said, “Esta bien,  el Viernes nos vemos, pero una cosa, quiero que le mandes saludos a todos los Jornaleros y les dediques mi cancion,” he said. Lino said that my plan was fine, and that I shall see him Friday, but that he wanted to sent out a shout out to all his Day Laborer Friends and to dedicate them his song. Gladly, I responded and said yes, and here it is.

Lino says that this song projects his life and that he wants to share it with the rest of us. Before leaving he said, “You want to experience one day in my shoes, meet me here Friday at 6 a.m.” I accept! It’s my turn to wait to be picked up at the 7eleven at the corner of Victoria and Placentia. If you need an extra hand, Lino and I will be there AND MANY MORE!

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

One response »

  1. V. Espitia says:

    This is super cool! I’m excited for the new things you’ll be experiencing!!!!!!!!

Deje a Reply

