Over the past two weeks, I’ve been trying to talk to professors from the science departments to see if could conduct an experiment to test the quality of water.  It was more of a hassle than I thought, especially because my schedule became another obstacle for this goal.  Instead I searched some sites where reports are give on the quality of tap water.  The first site I checked out stated that the pollution was a 2.3 out of a 10 rating.  The site was http://www.homefacts.com/waterquality and seemed to be the most current one. The second site, http://www.ewg.org/tap-water was less current (2004-2009) but a bit more specific.  It displayed the actual pollutants such as radon, radium, arsenic, and the list goes on.  Although they did not exceed the legal-limit, they did exceed the health guidelines. This seems somewhat controversial since I believe the legal limit should equal the health limit.  In addition to this information, some pollutants are not regulated at all by the Environmental Protection Agency, EPA. I assume that since the most current website shows a low number of pollutants, there have been improvements over the years. I still, however, want to test the water myself to confirm my findings.  I am also working on why there are signs outside most of the apartment buildings stating that chemicals within those premises are known to cause cancer.  Obviously, the poor have no choice but to live in a place where rent is cheaper.  I am glad, that there are improvements but my barrio is still a work in progress. This song is a taste for what I will talk about in the future as well.

 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

One response »

  1. Raquel says:

    I agree completely. It’s stupid and counterproductive to set a legal limit and a health limit, I guess it says something about the place we live in, huh? A health limit should be the primary goal to shoot for and signs warning us that we may develop cancer should not exempt the owners from their responsibilities to their tenants! Keep up the good work, this project is looking great!

Deje a Reply

