Alex and I

That’s right amigos! Today’s flavor is una paleta de coco, fresa, y chocolate.  I was amazed myself when I found out this one particular paletero was selling it.  Out of the twenty some years alive, I had no idea they had such flavor’s all in one.  It looked like it was a strawberry iced paleta dipped into chocolate from the outside and had coconut drizzle all over the chocolate.  It was delicioso. 

As I continued on with finding out more about Paletero’s, I stopped a young paletero nearby where I live.  Location is near Main and MacArthur in the city of Santa Ana. His name is Alex Lopez  and below are a few questions I asked him:

Where were you born: I was born in Tapatia, Mexico

How long have you been working as a Paletero: I’ve been working for  3 years

How has the business been doing: Well, now with the change of time, I’ve been making less money than usual and also because of the change in weather.  That hasn’t helped as well.

Are you self employed or do you work for someone: I work for a comany in Santa Ana called, Tropicana.

Have you ever been assaulted or in danger of any kind while working?: Til this day, I haven’t, but I’ve heard a lot of stories from other workers who have been and I’m very lucky nothing has happened to me.

 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

