One of the best Hole In the Wall Places

Today I went to Pink’s, also known as one of the best hot dog stands in California. I was somewhat disappointed because the last time I went there I thought the hot dogs were amazing. Yet that got me thinking that I had to do this interview by midnight, and so here I am at 11:45 pm trying to get this done. I decided to interview the person that I spend all day with; and that was my boyfriend Eamon. He is Assyrian, and his culture really interests me a lot because it is so different from mine, but at the same time very similar. Every time I meet a new family member they feed me like a Mexican family would when you go over to someone’s house and they love each other because they are family. So here was his interview:

Q: Who was the best cook in your extended family, what made them the best cook to you?
A: My mother made the best food, she made all the food that she learned from her mother. Not only that but she made her meals at exactly 5 o’clock everyday. The time was very imporrtant in my memory because I knew that by five o’clock it was time to eat.
Q:What was your favorite meal growing up? What memories makes it your favorite?
A:My favorite meal that was my favorite was white rice, with white beans, and lamb. It’s a home cooked meal that you would love to have on a rainy day.
Q: When was the first time you had food outside your culture?
A:My first memory of eating food outside my culture was Chinese food at the mall. I wish I could go back to Canada and eat it again. It feels like in the United States there is no Chinese food made like it was in Canada.
Q:What is your favorite restaurant? Where is it located and do you have a particular dish you order?
A: My favorite place is Pho Hung Vuong, they serve all kinds of Vietnamese food there. My favorite dish to order is Pho Tai Nam. It’s made with vermicelli noodles and steak, it’s really simple but its delicious.
Q:Why do you think Mexican food is so popular, what is your favorite authentic Mexican restaurant?
A:I guess Mexican food is so popular because there are a lot of Mexicans in California and it’s greasy. It’s the go to engulfing dish that people would want to it. My favorite restaurant is Taco Factory but my favorite dish are tamales.
Q: How do you like your tacos?
A: If I had to choose it would be made of carne asada, cilantro, raw onions, lime, cheese, and the spiciest salsa available. If salsa is not available I will just add pico de gallo.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

