Hello, my name is Roberto Ramirez and for my interview on “The Best Cook”, I interview my friend Lily who I’ve known since high school.  The following interview took place on February 20, 2012 as she made her way to school in San Bernardino. 

Q:  Who is the best cook in your family?

A:  I would have to say my mother is the best cook in the family, I believe she’s the best because she has always been the family’s main cook.  I guess I’m just use to eating her food and she has always seemed to have the right authentic Mexican taste to her food.

Q:  What is your favorite Mexican dish?

A:  My favorite Mexican dish is Pozole.  My mom typically makes it from pork, but the seasoning used makes the corn grains be very delicious. 

Q:  What is your first experience eating ethnic food?

A:  My first experience eating something besides Mexican food was when I went to a Salvadorean Restaurant located in the Huntington Park area.  The first thing that I ordered was pupusas.   They are very delicious because everything is hand made.  I love this place so much, I’ve been going there for at least 15 years.

Q:  Which is your favorite Mexican Food Restaurant?

A:  My favorite restaurant is King Taco.  King Taco always has the best carne asada burritos.  They are very delicious when they are drenched in hot salsa. 

Q:  Why do you like this restaurant?

A:  I like this restaurant for the good food and because they are easily available to get to all around Los Angeles County and the Inland Empire.

Q:  Why do you believe Mexican Food is very popular?

A:  I’m not sure why Mexican food is very popular, but probably because the food is offered in many different locations and a lot of the Mexican dishes are very spicy and many people tend to like spicy food.

Q:  What kind of tacos do you like and what do you like on them?

A:  I like carne asada tacos.  I do not like to add cilantro or onions but I like “cotija cheese” and green salsa.  They are very good, better than any other option available. 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

