Hi everyone!

I’m Lupe Vargas and for this week’s blog I decided to interview my fiance Nathan, who has been in the restaurant business since he was 16 years old. This is how the interview went:

Who is the best cook in your family?

Honestly it would have to be your mom.

Why, in your opinion is she the best cook?

Two reasons: One because she makes everything from scratch and two, because her food has an incomparable sazon.

What was your favorite meal growing up?

Hands down it was Chiles Rellenos. My mom always made mine and wrapped it in a different string to let my brother and sister know it was made especially for me, and always stuffed it with extra cheese <smiles>.

When was the 1st time you tried food outside your culture?

I was in 1st grade and I was over at my friend’s house. His family was eating fried crickets with lemon and salt. I didn’t grow up with that kind of food around so it definitely was different.

Did you enjoy the fried crickets <laughing>?

They were delicious, but then again my mom always said I would eat anything and everything.

What is your favorite restaurant?

I have two favorite restaurants, for two different reasons. For the atmosphere it would have to be Orange Hill, in Orange. You could definitely take a date there <referring to me ofcourse right?? haha>

For taste, my favorite place is a hole-in the wall Thai restaurant in Anaheim.

What is your favorite dish at both places?

At Orange Hill it’s the Filet Mignon medium rare. At the Thai restaurant it would have to be their Fried shrimp and rice, with a level 10 in spicyness. For some people that’s way to spicy but for me it’s delicious, what can I say I’m Mexican I love spicy food.

Why do you think Mexican Food is so popular?

Because of the amazing flavor and because there’s a wide variety. From fajitas to cocteles de camaron to carne asada, there’s a little bit of everything. And you can’t forget the salsa.

What’s your favorite mexican restaurant?

It’s probably the old-school Los Panchos Restaurant because before they became a franchise, they had an authentic mexican taste to them.

How do you like your tacos?

I love tacos al pastor or de lengua. I like them with alot of salsa, onion, cilantro, and lime.

Where do you get them?

It’s from a street vendor on 10th in Santa Ana. I have to take you!

 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

