ImageWhen it came to choosing a place where to eat for this review I was struggling more on choosing a place than getting this blog post started.  My 7-5 job places me in downtown Santa Ana at the Central Justice Superior Court all week.  I have been here for the past 3 years and have had a chance to eat at the local restaurants, but only one has been good enough that I consistently go back for the food and service.  Mexican restaurant “Pico de Gallo” located on 901 West 17th Street Santa Ana, CA 92706.  On February 27, I invited my co-worker Alma to go grab some lunch.  As soon as we entered the restaurant we were politely greeted by the cashier.  “Hola me puedes dar un burrito de carnitas y una agua de horchata?”  A few minutes later I was in possession of a burrito that had much more food in it than a foot-long at Subway.  A ten minute walk back to work seemed to take forever since the whole way back my stomach was empty and all I can think of is the moment of when I would be at work eating, luckily talking to my co-worker kept my mind of my hunger.  As soon as I got to work, I began sinking in my teeth into that burrito.  The tortillas where still warm and tasty as soon as I took my first bite.  When I took my first bite, I can taste the moist rice and meat hit my tongue on the very first bite.  The burrito was very delicious, but there was only one problem that I was able to find with the burrito and that was the was a bit over cooked on the edges so whenever I would take a small bite, a whole chunk of meat would follow.  This isn’t necessarily sufficient to call the burrito, a bad burrito.  The burrito and the large horchata roughly cost me approximately 7 dollars.  Pico de Gallo has good food and decent pricing so it is definitely a place you would consider even if it was out of your way.

 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

