Today after work I came home and told my wife “I’m taking you to dinner” but little did she know I was doing a homework assignment lol. We went to this hole in the wall restaurant called Sal & Limon, its a Mexican restaurant right down the street from where we live.

Sal & Limon Gourmet Mexicano & Cantina 2019 N Riverside Ave #1 Rialto CA 92377

As we arrived and walked in they greeted us and asked if we wanted a high table or a booth to sit down. I have to admit the restaurant looks very nice with flat screens all around, but it seemed more suited to be a nightclub than a gourmet restaurant. If I were interested in Tequila Shots this might be a place to go. The waiters and staff were really nice, as soon as we sat down the waitress came and brought us chips and salsa. Then the waitress asked, “What would you like to drink?” So I said, “Can I have an Horchata?” The waitress replied, “sorry we don’t carry horchata!!” So my wife ordered a sprite and I ordered a margarita on the rocks because they didn’t have Horchata in a Mexican restaurant 😦 Unfortunately she did not card me for an ID 🙂 But what the heck I guess I look old…

Chips & Salsa

I  have to admit their chips and salsa was very good especially the green salsa. So before the waitress took our order  I asked “what is your best dish?” she said “well, what would you like? Something in particular?” I replied “seafood” so she said, “Camarones al Mojo de Ajo!” So I  went ahead and ordered Camarones al Mojo de Ajo and my wife ordered Tacos de carne asada with lettuce, cilantro, cheese and a little bit of salsa to give it more flavor ( pico de gallo). We waited about 20 min for our meals to be prepared; however, when the meal was brought I was ready to grub. My evening meal, camarones mojo de ajo consisted of garlic shrimp, mashed potatoes, spanish rice, pico de gallo, and 3 tortillas.

Camarones al Mojo de Ajo

It looked delicious but when me and my wife started eating the camarones al mojo de ajo was not the best I have had before. For some reason the shrimp was kind of raw, don’t think it was cooked all the way. On the other hand, the mashed potatoes and spanish rice was really good. So then I asked my wife, “How were the carne asada tacos?”  She said, “the tacos were really good but Ive had better before. Also to top it off they had some nice elegant napkins I mean you would think since its a hole in the wall restaurant they would have regular napkins lol.

So then I asked myself, “how would I rate this restaurant overall?” Well to make it easier on myself I asked  the following 3 questions:

How was the Camarones al Mojo de Ajo? It was ok but it wasn’t my best.

Would I come here again? Probably not, but if I do Ill try something differnt.

Would I recommend it to someone? I would, but it wouldn’t be my first choice.

Ultimately, I was really disapointed because you would think a fancy restaurant with pricey menus such as Sal & Limon, you would experience a rich an authentic Mexican food. Therefore, the food wasn’t the greatest but if I had to go agin I would try something differnt.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

