Now that I have your attention with such a captivating title, I’m sorry to let you down, but this is actually a restaurant review.  The title to this post is only relevant because the first two words of the title is the name of the restaurant I chose to review, plus I thought it would be funny to falsely advertise to you guys (please please please don’t sue me!!!)   Although, I will admit there were a couple cuties working there.  Los Sanchez is a restaurant a estilo de Sonora.  It’s located in Garden Grove, Ca.  It’s fairly new to its location, but the restaurant itself has been around for a while.  I don’t know exactly how old it is, but it’s been around ever since I was about six years old (I’m 21 now).  My recollections of the old place are of a raggedy, shack looking place, with a feel of being in Mexico (you can decide whether that is a good thing or a bad thing).  This place is much more modern.

 

I told my older brother and two younger sisters that I had to write a review for a restaurant, so I was going to take them out to eat so I can try the different foods that they get.  Needless to say, they were more than happy to assist me.  We decided to go to Los Sanchez after the Mexico-Colombia game.  This is irrelevant and out of the point, but did any you see that game?  I was PISSED OFF!!!  Shitty defense the whole game and shitty playing the 2nd half made up for a shitty game for Mexico.  But I digress, is there any better way to mend a broken heart after a stupid Mexico loss than with Mexican food?  I can’t think of too many.  Upon walking in, the place was very lit up, and colorful.  I’m not talking about exuberant neon colors, just nice colors and lit up.  I felt a good vibe when I walked in.  I could hear people enjoying themselves, it’s not overly loud, but you can definitely hear some conversations if you pay attention (I didn’t though because no soy chismoso, but it wouldn’t be hard since we are loud people).  I went on a Wednesday, and I wouldn’t imagine it would be busy, but the restaurant was more than half full.   During the weekends I know this restaurant can get pretty packed, so if you do decide to try this place, it’s best to go some time during the week for dinner.  We ordered Supreme Nachos ($7.00), Quesadilla de Pollo ($7.75), Plato de Tamales ($7.75),and a Taco de asada ($2.20)l.

This is the front entrance to Los Sanchez

The Supreme Nachos consisted of chilly, cheese, carne asada, and of course the tortilla chips.  This was all of ours favorite dish.  The carne itself was bland.  The best way I can describe it is when you are about to eat something, you take a bite, and at first it seems like it’s going to be delicious, but the taste just doesn’t enhance any more, and it goes from “this is going to be soooo good!!! to “it was ‘aight.”  The meat by itself is indeed ‘aight, but when you add the chilly cheese onto the nachos, it has a good taste.  Not one ingredient is much stronger than the other, so you get a good blend of all the ingredients which makes for enjoyable Supreme Nachos.  I highly recommend these.

First off, let me start by saying, I regret getting the quesadilla.  I don’t know if it’s because I had high expectations for the quesadilla, but I did not enjoy it.  It had what you would expect from any quesadilla: tortilla de harina, cheese (this was shredded cheddar cheese) and some meat (chicken in my case).  The tortilla was fine, and so was the cheese, but I just could not get past the chicken.  Its texture was just not for me.  It was very moist, almost soggy, and very stringy.  To top it all off, the chicken didn’t have much flavor.  It had the taste of what you would expect from a generic Mexican restaurant that serves chicken tacos.  If you know what I mean, it’s not very good.  I have honestly had better chicken at Taco Bell.  I wanted to like this dish, but I just couldn’t.  I would say that you try this at your own risk.  Who knows, you might actually like it, but I know I didn’t.

Next up to taste was the plato de tamal.  The dish had two tamales, one chicken and one beef.  To  go with tamales, the plate also had rice and beans.  The beans had a good taste.  They were fritos, and were topped with shredded cheddar cheese.  The taste was good, especially mixed in with some of the rice, which had a unique taste (in a good way).  The tamales themselves weren’t bad, but not the best I’ve had.  The chicken was a little different from the chicken in the quesadilla, so it did make them more enjoyable.  Surprisingly, the beef tamal was better (although not TOO surprising since I didn’t like the chicken on the quesadilla).  I usually (99.99% of the time) prefer and get tamales de pollo.  I guess this was that 00.01% another type of meat on my tamal other than chicken.  The maza was dry and broke apart easily, but it was good.  There are some mazas that taste almost like plastic, but this was actually good.  These weren’t the best tamales, but I’d recommend these for at least to try them (specifically the beef ones).

Last, but not least, I tried a taco de asada.  When I ordered it, the girl asked me if I wanted it with lechuga and queso.  I was baffled by what she asked me.  I thought to myself “did I accidentally say torta?”  Dumbfounded, I said yes.  When I went to sit down I couldn’t get over what I was just asked.  A taco with lettuce and cheese?  What is this sorcery?   I’ve never had tacos with lettuce and cheese, and I assumed that it was a substitution for cebolla and cilantro, but my brother later told me that the cebolla and cilantro was in the salad bar.  I began to wonder if I should go back and say to cancel the lettuce and cheese, but then I told myself that I should try something new (plus it was only one taco, so if I didn’t like it, well, only one taco would go to waste).  The meat was the same as with the nachos, it had the lettuce and cheese on top, and I added cebolla and cilantro.  It wasn’t what I expected.  I was expecting a not so enjoyable taco, but it was actually decent.  Not the best taco, and I’d prefer others, but I would recommend trying it with the lettuce and cheese at least once.

Overall, I would recommend Los Sanchez.  I’d give this place a 3.5/5.  I didn’t try them this time, but I have had the burrito de asada and it’s pretty good.  This place is very clean, including the bathrooms which can make a difference in how you view a restaurant.  If you’re ever in the Garden Grove area and need a place to eat, try Los Sanchez, you might enjoy their tacos, burritos, nachos, and mariscos ( I’ve heard the mojarra is REALLY good, but I wouldn’t know because I don’t like sea food).  Below is a link to the restaurant.  Until next time.

Los Sanchez:  http://www.lossanchez.com/

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

