I still can’t get over the idea of what I would do with a base salary of 324,500 and a 12,000 a year car allowance and finally 60,000 a year housing  allowance for a grand total of 396,500.  This amount breaks down to 33,041 a MONTH!!!  Oh my god!!! I make a little over 2 grand a month and I need to pay rent, pay my car, and other expenses.  Is it even possible to spend 30k a month?  Lets say they take away 5k in taxes alone, she’s still left with 28k to spend.  What amazes me is that a public employee is paid just to get to work.  Since when is it a tax payer responsibility to give her money just to make sure she gets to work?  Our school president has generous compensation already, why do we give them so much?  But who am I to judge our school’s president, if I was in the same position as her I would probably be jumping at that salary to and probably asking for more.  Ok, maybe not asking for more, I’m not that greedy.  But lets face it, she is receiving more than a generous compensation package.  At least now when I pay for my tuition again (I receive no financial aid) I know I’m helping make a wealthy Latina even wealthier. Anyways, at the end of the day I’m proud to go to CSUF!!

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

One response »

  1. […] A view from a struggling student by Roberto Ramirez « The Barrios … […]

Deje a Reply

