Last Thursday, at the Fullerton public library, I attended a book signing event of professor Gustavo Arellano’s book named Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America. It was quite an experience for me since it was my first time at a book signing. Before arriving, I thought it was going to be a small event. However, it turned out to be quite packed with people. At the event, the book presentation completely changed my view on Mexican food. I was one of those people who believe that the food at places like Taco Bell is not authentic Mexican food. However, at the presentation, I learned that the Mexican food today is a combination of many different foods and cultures. Before this event, I had no idea what a Mexican hamburger is, but apparently it is quite popular in Denver, Colorado. To the people there, this dish is what Mexican food is. In addition, I especially enjoyed the story about how Doritos originated from Casa de Fritos at Disneyland. It was also quite surprising that professor Arellano was the one who discovered this fact. The whole book signing event was amazing. Nevertheless, I wish that the Q and A part could be a bit longer because I saw a lot of peoples were still raising their hand hoping to be called on.

 

The first interview I did was with an couple.

Why did you come here?

Him: To hear Gustavo Arellano speak

Her: Come with her husband

How did you hear about this event?

Him: from the OC Weekly

Her: OC Weekly

What did you think about this event?

Him: Good, very fine history of Mexican food

Her: was excellent event, the way he present the material

Is this your first time at a book signing?

Him: no, been to many book signing before

Her: no

What is your favorite Mexican dish?

They both said taco

 

The final person I interview was the photographer from the OC Weekly.

Why did you come here?

Shooting for the OC Weekly

How did you hear about this event?

I work for the OC Weekly

What did you think about this event?

Well done but can go more in depth about the interview in the book

Is this your first time at a book signing?

No

What is your favorite Mexican dish?

Tripas taco

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

