As for my class lecture I had to attend the Fullerton Library for Gustavo book signing of his new release Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America. I have to admit my wife and I had a great time, it was our first book-signing event ever. This place was a full house even some people had to stand…

Fullerton Public Library

Obviously This Room Was Packed!!

 Luckily this nice man by the name of Ronnie moved over a seat so that my wife and I can have a place to sit; little did we know the Gustavo’s family sat right behind us.The presentation was not long but very well-informed. Ruben’s opening intro was the funniest! He was very out spoken with full of joy and pride of being a Mexican. Also very proud of Gustavo’s success in publishing his newest book Taco USA. Professor Gustavo knows his stuff especially when it comes to the history of Mexican food in the United States. Gustavo is very well spoken and hilarious. His way of informing and teaching us was like a stand up comedy because he kept the audience entertained with his enthusiastic experiences with Mexican food. Anyhow I enjoyed his speech, the intro to his new book, the presentation of his family, and the questions that he answered. However, it did catch me off guard that Gustavo can be a great food critic/writer but not so good of a cook 🙂

The author of Taco USA and the editor of OC Weekly
Professor Gustavo Arellano

As for my assignment I had to interview 3 people and ask them questions. Fortunately I didn’t have to go too far because it was a full house and the people was very modest. Therefore, I went ahead and interviewed my wife, Ronnie the man who sat next to me, and Gustavo’s little brother who sat behind us with his family…

Interview #1 My Wife (La que manda) LOL

Q1: Why did you come to the event?

A1: My husband took me to the event because he wanted to surprise me with dinner

Q2: How did you hear about of the event?

A2: My husband told me about the event and invited me to go with him.

 Q3: What did you think of it?

A3: It was very entertaining and a book that I’m looking forward to read.

Q4: Is this your first book signing?

 A4: Yes.

 Q5: What is your favorite Mexican dish?

A5: Sopitas with Spanish rice.

 

Interview#2 Ronnie (the person who sat next to me)

 Q1: Why did you come to the event?

A1: A good friend of mine told me that Gustavo was going to have a book signing for his new book release Taco USA and I’m a big fan with Mexican food so I had to come see what it was about.

Q2: How did you hear about of the event?

A2: My friend told me about and I have heard about Gustavo so I wanted to check it out.

 Q3: What did you think of it?

A3: It was very interesting to know the history of Mexican food in America. “I didn’t know that Burritos was founded in the United States during the Brasseros era.”

 Q4: Is this your first book signing?

A4: No, this is my 4th book signing.

Q5: What is your favorite Mexican dish?

A5: The Chile Rellenos that my grandma makes.

 

Interview# 3 Gabriel (Gustavo’s little brother)

Q1: Why did you come to the event?

A2: Since I didn’t go to the last one I wanted to come this one and support him.

Q2: How did you hear about the event?

A2: He’s my brother.

Q3: What did you think of the event?

A3: I’m very proud of him; I never thought he would go this far and I’m very lucky to have a brother like him.

Q4: Is this your first book signing?

A4: No.

Q5: What is your favorite Mexican dish?

A5: The enchiladas that my mom makes.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

