For this week’s blog post, we had to interview three people at our profe Arellano’s book signing.  I thought it would take a long time, but it was actually pretty quick.  I do regret not having a more detailed interview.  I was worried I wouldn’t have time to interview all three people, so I just stuck to the five questions, not the best journalist as you can tell.  I interviewed Glenn, who was conveniently sitting in front of me for the event.  I also interviewed Andrea, whom I was surprised to see because I know her from high school, but goes to FCJ, and I also interviewed her boyfriend happened to conveniently be next to her.

 

Question: Why did you come to the book signing?

Glenn: I used to work for the public library.  I’ve known Gustavo for a couple of years and I wanted to support the event.  Not to mention that I love his books.

 

Q: How did you hear of the event?

G: I originally heard of the event from the library director.

 

Q: What did you think of the event?

G: Oh, great event.  I love the fact that he brought his family.  The amount of people was wonderful.  I thought the shout out he did for the public library was great.  And he’s a good speaker.

 

Q: Is this the first book signing you’ve ever been to?

G: No.

 

Q: What’s your favorite Mexican Dish?

G: Tacos al pastor.

 

 

Question: Why did you come to the book signing?

Andrea: To be honest, I came for the extra credit.  But last time he was at Fullerton College for his Orange County book it was interesting.

 

Q: How did you hear of the event?

A: Um, Professor Padilla.

 

Q: What did you think of the event?

A: I really liked it.  It was interesting, like the story about Doritos being invented at Disneyland, I knew nothing about.

 

Q: Is this the first book signing you’ve ever been to?

A: No.

 

Q: What’s your favorite Mexican Dish?

A: I think I like Enchiladas the most.

 

Question: Why did you come to the book signing?

Alex: My teacher Mr. Padilla told us about it.

 

Q: How did you hear of the event?

Al: My girlfriend and the professor.

 

Q: What did you think of the event?

Al: It was informative and funny.

 

Q: Is this the first book signing you’ve ever been to?

Al: No, I was there for the FJC one, for the Orange County book.

 

Q: What’s your favorite Mexican Dish?

Al: Enchiladas.

 

            In my personal opinion, I liked the event.  It was great to see so many people come out to listen to “my” professor.  It was interesting, and I would have bought the book if I had money.  But hey, I can still get it signed in class right?  I didn’t interview him, but Julia (classmate) and I were talked to profe Arellano’s dad after during the actual book signing.  He was cool, and of course we talked about food.  I told him how my parents are from the state of Michoacan and he told me that Los Panchos (located on Broadway and 5th Street I believe) has pretty good carnitas.  I guess now I have a new restaurant to try out to see if they are good.  Until next time, quidensen.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

