Gustavo Arellano

Walking into Gustavo Arellano new book signing at the Fullerton public library in Fullerton California was a new experience for me. The book  titled  ‘Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America’ brought a full house to the Fullerton library which made me realized how the Mexican food industry has grown in the past years. As a student of Professor Arellano I am really impressed how Mr. Arellano took the time to go to different state and to try different Mexican cuisine.  Also, knowing professor Arellano I was not impressed how he kept the audience entertained with facts he found out about Mexican food in different parts of the US. He clearly has a strong fan base which made the evening very special. Also, at the end of the presentation he introduced all the people that have helped him become who he is now which is his family.

on sale now!

 

 

The audience:

Q: Why did you come today?

A: from Rosa- I was curious about the book

A: from Claudia- I read Gustavo’s work at the OC Weekly I love his books

A: from Alicia – I came to support my nephew

Q: How did you hear of the event?

A: from Rosa- I was invited by a friend

A: from Claudia- A friend in my opera class told me about it

A: from Alicia – Gustavo’s mother told me about the event

Q: what did you think of the event?

A: from Rosa- I was invited by a friend

A: from Claudia- A friend in my opera class told me about it

A: from Alicia – I loved it… it was very clear the message he wanted to send

Q: Is this your first book signing?

A: from Rosa- no its my 3rd

A: from Claudia-  no its my second time

A: from Alicia- No I have been to all of Gustavo’s book signings

Q: What is your favorite Mexican dish?

A: from Rosa- Mole

A: from Claudia- Tacos

A: from Alicia- Chile verde con huevos

Caliente!!!

Ask a Mexican

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester