It was an eventful day at the Fullerton Public Library with a full house. I didn’t expect there to be so many people but to my surprise it was full and we even got free samples of hot sauce. I decided to bring along my significant other and he was moving all around because he didn’t want to be there. I kept telling him how cool my professor was and that he had established his name as a writer and the Latino community. I thought we were running late and I wanted to make sure that I got a seat so we rushed over speeding the entire way. We decided to walk in five minutes before the event started because Gustavo had said he would start at 6pm. To my surprise we were ridiculously early. I guess I’m not your typical Mexican, instead of being late all the time I’m always way too early. The early bird gets the worm and we got hot sauce! We were told to do three interviews and so I embarked on a mission to force people to give me an interview.The people I interviewed consisted of two females and one older man.

The first person I interviewed was Mercedes Tinoco. She is a student at Cal State Fullerton and she was sitting behind me,

Q1:  Why did you come to the event?

A: I came to the event because it was part of the class curriculum. I’m taking a Chicano Studies course at school.

Q2: How did you hear of the event?

My professor gave us all the information.

Q3: What did you think of the event?

A: It was really interesting learning the stories about Mexican food. There was a lot I didn’t know before coming to the event.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to?

A: Yes.

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food?

A: I love posole with all the condiments. I love putting  a lot of onions and cilantro into it

The second person I interviewed was Melissa Morales. She was also a student at Cal State Fullerton.

Q1:  Why did you come to the event?

A: I  had to come for a class, my professor made us come.

Q2: How did you hear of the event?

A: My professor told us about the event for our Chicano Studies course.

Q3: What did you think of the event?

A: It was really interesting, the author is really funny. He gave a lot of informative information about Mexican food.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to?

A: Yes

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food?

A: I love all kinds of foods. I like tostadas, tamales, and enchiladas. I love the tamales with chile con queso.

The third person I interviewed was Bob Wenzlaff an older man from the city of Fullerton.

Q1:  Why did you come to the event?

I really like Gustavo, I often read his column in the O.C. Register. He’s a really funny guy and I was excited to come to the event.

Q2: How did you hear of the event?

A: It was actually advertised on his column that he was going to have the event here.

Q3: What did you think of the event?

I enjoyed it very greatly. He is a fine speaker. He’s also very interesting and funny.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to?

A: No, I’ve been to numerous book signings

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food?

A: I love tacos. Actually I really love taco bell . I guess I’m not too familiar with Mexican food.

The event was a success and I walked out of the event full of energy and proud that my professor was so cool. I thought that it was funny because my boyfriend complained the entire time about how he didn’t want to be ther The following all he could do was talk about how cool my professor was and how amazing the salsa tasted.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

