Hello all, I recently attended the magnificent book signing at the beautiful town of Orange County located at Fullerton Public Library at 353 W Commonwealth Ave, Fullerton, CA 92832 by an intelligent bright Professor and Editor Gustavo Arellano on his book called ‘Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America.’ The event was full of people; it was fun, good learning and inspirational. Gustavo was talking about some features of his book about “How the Frito Lay’s Doritos were actually first made” and “How Taco Bell started.” Furthermore Gustavo went along and said of how the Mexican Taco was created and introduced in the U.S.A. and also how the Tamale was first made in San Francisco, California. I really liked the event because it made me realize how Mexican Food is delicious and popular to us Hispanics/Mexicans and for the American people.

After the event, I was able to interview three people.

Q1:  Why did you come to the event? She attended the event for a requirement of her Fullerton Community College Chicano Class.

Q2: How did you hear of the event? She heard the event by her professor.

Q3: What did you think of the event? I really like the event and made me think more about my Mexican Culture.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to? It was my first book signing and I am going to go more often.

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food? My favorite dish is Sopes with carne asada and lettuce.

Q1:  Why did you come to the event? I came to support my girlfriend because she had to be here.

Q2: How did you hear of the event? I heard it through my girlfriend because she is taking Professor Gustavo Arellano class at Cal State Fullerton Chicano Studies.

Q3: What did you think of the event? I really liked it because it was really a learning experience about the Mexican food. Also how Gustavo mentioned about the Frito Lay’s Doritos was first made at Disneyland.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to? It was my first time.

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food? My favorite food is Tamales located at Santa Ana called “Los Tamales.”

Q1:  Why did you come to the event? I came with my cousin to support her.

Q2: How did you hear of the event? I heard it by my cousin.

Q3: What did you think of the event? I really thought the event was interesting of how Gustavo wrote an awesome book and how the American People love the Mexican Food.

Q4: Is this the first book signing you’ve been to? It was my first time.

Q5: What’s your favorite Mexican food? The Enchiladas with green chili and chicken is my favorite dish.

Overall my first book signing was an incredible and learning experience. Gustavo really inspired me especially when he took the stage and talked about his book and other books he wrote. It made me realize of how Mexican Food conquered U.S.A. Also, I really enjoyed when Gustavo mentioned, the history of Mexican Food.  Gustavo did an awesome job of his three years or more of research of his recent book.  The book will make a good seller because a lot of work was put into the book. Just by attending my first book signing, I am going to attend more often.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

One response »

  1. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Deje a Reply

