Gustavo Arellano hosted a book signing at the Fullerton library, of his recently released book Taco USA, How Mexican Food Conquered America. I was fortunate to attend the event with my fellow classmates. The event was full of positive energy, with everyone eager to listen to Gustavo talk about his most recent book. The room was completely filled, and their wasn’t enough chairs to accommodate everyone who attended the event. Over all it was a great event and it was great to listen to the experiences he had while writing the book. The people I interviewed as part of my assignment appeared to also have enjoyed the event. Here are the interviews that that I conducted with the people that attended the book signing.

 

Emon

Why did you come her to the event?

My girlfriend is a fan of the author, and I accompanied her. Well she told me I that I needed to come with her.

How did you hear about this event?

My girlfriend told me about it.

Have you heard of Gustavo before?

I have not heard of him until my girlfriend began to mention him. When she was reading one of his books, since then I began to read a few of his articles.

What did you think of the event?

It was good. I didn’t think that it was going to be so crowded, but I really enjoyed it.

What has your favorite part of the event?

My favorite part of the event was when he was talking about the history of Doritos and how it is connected to Disneyland.

Is this the first book signing you attend?

Yes this is my first book signing I attend.

What is your favorite Mexican dish?

My favorite Mexican dish is tamales.

Any particular kind or from a certain place?

Well I like red pork tamales, and I really don’t have a favorite place where I eat tamales.

 

Mani

Why did you come here?

To hear him talk about his book, and so that I can get a copy of the book signed.

What is your favorite book by Gustavo?

So far my favorite book has been Orange County.

Why is Orange County your favorite book?

Because I live in orange county my whole life, and I found the book to be insightful.

How did you hear about it?

I read about the event in the OC weekly 

Is this your first time at a book singing?

Yes

Did you enjoy the event?

Yes I enjoyed it, specially listening to him read portions of the book.

What is your favorite Mexican dish?

My favorite Mexican dish are chilles rellenos.

Where is your favorite place to get them?

I know Gustavo isn’t going to like this, but my favorite place is Mexicasa on Main.

 

Esteban

Why did you come to the event?

Because I’m a fan of Gustavo and have read his previous books

How did you hear about it?

I heard of it on face book.

What did you think of the event?

I really enjoyed it, it was great to see how many people showed up to the event.

What was your favorite thing about the event?

I really enjoyed listening to him talk about his research and the interviews he conducted for the book. I really enjoyed and was surprised with the history of Doritos and how it was connected to Disneyland.

Is this your first time at a book signing?

No I have attended other book singings, and attended Gustavo’s last one.

What is your favorite Mexican dish?

My favorite Mexican dish are cheese enchiladas, I could eat them all the time.

Where is your favorite place to eat them from?

Well my favorite place closed, it was called Chavez.

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

Deje a Reply

