As I rushed to the library to see Gustavo’s book signing, I just realized I did not bring cash. Completely bummed out. I was running late as it is, so I did not want to miss it. I arrived to see a normal library, people walking in and out, kids checking out books. But Once I walked into the event room and saw people of all ages chit chatting and laughing I realized this is where I wanted to be. Gustavo was introduced and he began to speak about his experience with the book and started to read excerpts from it. He spoke of doritos from an Anaheim company and the revolution of the taco. It was brilliant. It really hit home when he spoke of soCal and our connection to mexican food. I began to ask questions. I asked a writer, a parent and a food lover.

                              The Writer

WHY DID YOU COME TO THE EVENT?

So many reasons. I love food, especially mexican food. I read Gustavo’s work and I wanted to meet him.

HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT THIS EVENT?

The OC Weekly. I read it every week. I like Gustavo’s food blog. I like to write and dabble.

ARE YOU IN THE OC WEEKLY?

No, but I do a food blog.

DID YOU ENJOY IT?

Loved it.

IS THIS YOUR FIRST BOOK SIGNING YOU HAVE BEEN TO?

No, I love to read and write.

WHATS YOUR FAVORITE MEXICAN FOOD?

Love chile rellenos.

       The Parent

WHY DID YOU COME TO THE EVENT?

Oc weekly and I like mexican food.

HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT THIS EVENT?

My daughter told me about it.

DID YOU ENJOY IT?

yes I did. I really liked the mexican history part.

IS THIS YOUR FIRST BOOK SIGNING YOU HAVE BEEN TO?

yes.

WHATS YOUR FAVORITE MEXICAN FOOD?

Chile rellano with batter, not the naked ones.                  

                             The Food Lover

WHY DID YOU COME TO THE EVENT?

I love food.

HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT THIS EVENT?

I bought some of Gustavo’s books and I read about it in the OC Weekly

DID YOU ENJOY IT?

Yes I really did.

IS THIS YOUR FIRST BOOK SIGNING YOU HAVE BEEN TO?

No, I met Cheech Marin one time.

WHATS YOUR FAVORITE MEXICAN FOOD?

Carne Asada tacos with everything.

 

About ocbarrios

Professor for Cal State Fullerton's Barrio Studies class for Fall 2011 semester

One response »

  1. Cory says:

    These have their own methods of operation and cater to official activities. The beginning of This year in decorating we’ve cheap curtains seen more pattern and texture for window treatments draperies valances curtains and swags toss pillows bed skirts duvet covers slipcovers upholstery and other home furnishings. Bathroom shower curtains are readily available in the market, you can have a go at it. Prices for any specialized or unique bathroom curtain, as might be likely, are generally not included.

Deje a Reply

